Get something new to listen to.

Over the recent months I’ve become somewhat of a music whore. I’ve been finding it really rewarding just to expose myself to a variety of different bands on the off chance that I might like what I hear. It’s been pretty successful and I’ve liked a lot of what I’ve heard so far.

We all have our absolute favorite of bands, the kind of obsession where any of the following apply: We must collect their entire musical catalogue, see them live whenever it’s at all practical, watch TV shows or rubbish movies just to see one of their tracks used and then discuss whether or not it was used appropriately, constantly talk about how awesome they are to all your friends (not noticing them rolling their eyes in unison).

I feel this way about a couple of bands, but it’s becoming increasingly difficult for me to answer the question of ‘what music/bands do you like?’ in anything less then an essay. I think this is a good thing, a really good thing. I’ve always considered that having a very diverse range of interests make you a much more interesting person. It also feels good to know that what you are currently listening to has been informed by your own investigation into awesome music, or otherwise having received recommendations from alternate sources to whatever happens to be in the top 10 charts.

I keep meaning to post more often, but that doesn’t always pan out. From this point I’m going to post at least once a week with my favorite album for the week as well as one of my long standing favorites. So if you are looking for something awesome to listen to, check back here on occasion for some inspiration.

You could also be hip and develop your own musical tastes by killing some time at Last.fm (or other such sites). Alternatively you could check out this fun little site that creates maps of similar music: Tuneglue. Just enter in a band you like and then you can expand it to show a web of 5 or 6 similar artists. Crikes! You say that you already know one of the similar artists in the web?! Expand that to show even more links to new bands! 🙂

Leave a Reply

